Maple Through the Looking Glass

I inflated Sweden so much in my head that I was afraid it wouldn’t live up to expectations. After all, Paris syndrome is very real for some… but I’m glad to report that everything here is even better than I could have ever dreamed of. I’m in my element here — being a student, cramming new things into my head, consuming information. I’m voracious, feed me. I want to be here, with all these awesome people, absorbing new language, culture, beauty.

I’m in school with a lot of Europeans who really have no idea how anyone can be so awe-stricken by dazzling old Baroque buildings and cobblestone streets. During our field trips to museums and castles I stand there with my mouth half open, eyes glazed, half shaking from the deluge of gorgeous visual and emotional stimuli. Back home, the oldest buildings are from the 50’s. Back home everything is glass and sterile. Back home I am uninspired and ensnared by drudgery.

I’m exactly where I want to be right now. I’m not sure any words in my current vocabulary can adequately describe the exhilaration coursing though my brain at 200 mph.

[Note: I don’t have WiFi in my room so updates will be sparse. However, I have shot 4 rolls of film already and have about 20 rolls more… there will be a doozy of an update in September.]

drotts

Drottningholms slott (Stockholm)

upps

Uppsala slott (Uppsala)

Leave a comment